Commissioner of Nunavut

Commissioner - Hon. Nellie T. Kusugak

Commissioner of Nunavut

Nellie T. Kusugak

Welcome to the Commissioners Website

This website helps to inform Nunavummiut, Canadians and citizens around the world about the events and celebrations that promote Nunavut's culture and traditions. We enjoy sharing what we have to offer, and hope that this website helps to bring a deeper understanding and broader knowledge about where we live, our culture, traditions, values and lifestyles.

If you wish to nominate someone for a commissioner's award to recognize their contributions to our territory, please click on the commissioner's awards guideline link. There is no deadline for nominations, and forms can be submitted by email or by fax.

Thank you for visiting this website.


Biography: Nellie T. Kusugak


Commissioner Kusugak announces recipients of the
2018 Nunavut Commissioner's Arts Award

Iqaluit, NU
April 26, 2019

Commissioner's Arts Award Open for Nominations
Iqaluit, NU
January 14, 2019

Commissioner's Address
Iqaluit, NU
March 20, 2018

Nunavut Commissioner presents awards in Baker Lake
Baker Lake, NU
March 1, 2018

North and Central Qikiqtani Regional Teachers Conference
Iqaluit, NU
February 16, 2018

Christmas Decoration with Joamie School Grade 4 Class (slide)
Iqaluit, Nunavut
December 4, 2017

Nunavut Commissioner's Levee 2017 (slide)
Iqaluit, Nunavut
November 19, 2017
Photo Credits: Mark Asplan, Aksut Media Ltd.

Commissioner's Awards
Iqaluit, Nunavut
October 19, 2017

Unveiling of the stamp - Canada 150
Iqaluit, Nunavut
May 30, 2017

Nunavut Commissioner's Awards (slide)
Pond Inlet, Nunavut
May 14, 2017
Photo credits: Robbie Arnakallak

Nunavut Commissioner's Visit with Elders (slide)
Mayuqalik Hunters and Trappers Association
Kimmirut, Nunavut
April 2, 2017

Nunavut Commissioner's Awards (slide)
Simeonie Aqpik Residence
Kimmirut, Nunavut
April 1, 2017

February 15, 2017 is National Flag of Canada Day.
For more information on National Flag of Canada Day, please visit

Commissioner Kusugak invites Nunavummiut to celebrate National Flag of Canada Day
Iqaluit, Nunavut
February 02, 2017

Commissioner Kusugak invites Nunavummiut to celebrate Canada 150
Iqaluit, Nunavut
January 27, 2017

Charlie Panigoniak awarded the 2016 Nunavut Commissioner's Performing Arts Award
Iqaluit, Nunavut
November 07, 2016

Nunavut Commissioner's Arts Award
Celebrating Performing Artistic Excellence
Iqaluit, Nunavut
June 07, 2016

Fifteen recipients receive Commissioner's Awards in Hall Beach
Hall Beach, Nunavut
February 19, 2016

Commissioner Kusugak congratulates Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II
Iqaluit, Nunavut
September 9, 2015